Touring Dumfries & Galloway

I often get the feeling that Dumfries & Galloway is left to bathe in its own beauty whilst the common tourist heads to Skye or the Highlands. This is why cycling in the region is sublime. The undulating hills remind me a lot of certain regions in France. And, of course, the countryside smell that lingers in the air – what bliss!

Although it was only a two-day trip, the scenery we got in the lowlands cycling through some rough tracks was well worth it. I like to refer back to it as the test of a steel bicycle. You see, Louis and I spiced up a vintage Peugeot (he bought at a garage sale for £5) before heading off… it survived!

The route had been on my mind for some time since I had spent a couple weeks in Dumfries in January 2016. I somehow came across the mysterious spirit of the bothy culture and wanted in. This meant a stopover in White Laggan bothy was a necessity. I nearly attempted it then, ignoring the ice and snow. In retrospect, I’m glad I waited for the summer because some of the route is probably more suited to a mountain bike. Nothing that a steel vintage can’t handle though…

The route

Starting from Dumfries, we followed the Sustrans NCN 7 all of the way to Maybole, stopping overnight in White Laggan bothy near Loch Dee. It got very rough and very rocky unexpectedly in sections of the route in the Galloway Forest Park (I wish I had taken photos). This is actually detailed on the Sustrans Lochs & Glens South map, however, we only noticed it on the train back home.

full

Leave a comment